top of page

Another list of podcast recommendations? Or 7 new great ones you may have not listened to...

It feels like everyone has a podcast these days. Even thinking about writing this article I could imagine eye rolls at yet more TED talk shows being shouted in our face. Whether it is a ‘dating advice’ podcast or a ‘getting your shit together’ preach talk, there's a lot to listen to in 2023.


However, I like to find podcasts that feel comforting and pass the silent moments. Whether I’m tidying, walking to the shop or trying to fall asleep, having a background sound is always reassuring. Mundane tasks are suddenly transformed as a soothing podcast in the background makes the time go quick.


So I have suggested my top listens (alongside the thousands of different podcasts!) in the hope that some people find some new suggestions:



1. Calm it Down - Chad Lawson

This is an incredibly calming podcast that I always listen to if I’m stressed or anxious. Chad Lawson is an American composer and was inspired to start this podcast as he received messages about his music helping others through difficult times. The way each topic is handled feels like a warm cup of tea and never feels too preachy or overwhelming. Usually the podcasts are only 20 minutes which is the perfect time for a wake up boost or a wind down in the evening.





2. Here for the Craic with Emma Neill

Emma’s chatty, upbeat tone is the reason why this podcast is always a staple for me. The topics are always relatable and never anything too heavy. I think the tone of the podcast just sounds like your friend chatting away which is why it’s great to listen to. She is an influencer on the rise for sure, but you heard it here first!





3. Shameless Podcast

This Australian pair of presenters every week give the low-down in pop culture and entertainment. I personally love gossip and hearing the mindless news of celebrities. Also, there are pop culture scandal series with many stories that have been well researched. Ultimately, this is my escapism podcast where I just tune into the world of celebrities!




4. Miss Congeniality with Eli Rallo

Eli Rallo is a Tik Tok star known for her ‘rule lists’ - I would describe her as the American ‘Dolly Alderton’. These include monthly rule lists or rules for a Friday with suggestions such as ‘5pm is a glass of cheap prosecco’. This aesthetic tone of self care translates into her podcasts which are very relatable for anyone in their 20s.




5. Saving Grace - GK Barry

GK Barry is a well known influencer and her podcast is also a rising hit. I wanted to mention this podcast as I find her interview style really refreshing as she manages to make every guest sound like her best friend. I think it's hard to make each podcast sound like two friends chatting at the pub but she really nails it. Her guests never leave out anything taboo which makes it an entertaining, fun listen.



6. The Sleepy Bookshelf

Looking for a story to send you to sleep? Every time I’ve listened to one of these stories I’ve never reached the end (because I've knocked out!). Yet, there’s no need to worry as the narrator does a recap for each part of the story so that you can ‘rest easy’ and not miss out. The stories are very nostalgic and cosy such as Alice In Wonderland and Treasure Island. So for the winter months ahead I would see this as a staple listen for the cold evenings!



7. Unreal: A Critical History of Reality TV

A audio documentary isn't my usual go-to, however this ten part series caught my attention. Journalists Pandora Sykes and Sirin Kale explore ten different reality TV shows and how they've impacted entertainment culture. There are interviews used from many leading critics and each iconic show is well researched. It's food for thought on how this genre has been defended time and time again yet also heavily criticised in 2023.






And of course, if anyone reading this has any podcast recommendations that they feel I should have listened then I would love to hear them - Iona x





30 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page